The annual running of the Cape Racing And Breeding Awards was held on 7 August 2015 and hosted at the splendid Lanzerac Estate in Stellenbosch. The event was a Racing Association and Cape Breeders Club collaboration.

Cheveley took home the award for Champion Middle Distance Horse of the Year (Legislate). Legislate was also nominated for “Champion Older Male”, but the award went to Captain Of All. Well done to everyone involved!

Vaughan receiving the award for “Champion Middle Distance Horse Of The Year”: Legislate

Vaughan, chairman of the Cape Breeder Club, presenting John Kramer with a “Special Service Industry Award”


Images courtesy of Equine Edge

The winners were:

Cape BREEDERS Awards:

[col width=”one_half” last=”false” ]
2YO Champion Colt Seventh Plain – Klawervlei Stud
2YO Champion Filly Chestnuts N Pearls – Nutfield Stud
3YO Champion Colt Legal Eagle – Avontuur Estate
3YO Champion Filly Carry On Alice – Klawervlei Stud
Champion Older Male Captain Of All – Riverton Stud
Champion Older Female Fly By Night – Mrs PJ Devine
Champion Sprinter Captain Of All – Riverton Stud
Champion Middle Distance Horse Legislate – Cheveley Stud[/col]

[col width=”one_half” last=”true” ]
Champion Stayer Legal Eagle – Avontuur Estate
Broodmare Of The Year Si Senorita – Arc-En-Ciel Stud
Outstanding New Stallion Querari – Maine Chance Farms
Stallion Of The Year Captain Al
Breeder Of The Year Klawervlei
Horse Of The Year Captain Of All
International Horse Of The Year Vercingetorix
Outstanding Breeder Maine Chance Farms
Industry Service Award John Kramer[/col]

Cape RACING awards:

[col width=”one_half” last=”false” ]
Juvenile Male – Captain Chaos
Juvenile Filly – Princess Royal
3YO Male – Act Of War
3YO Filly – Inara
Older Male – Futura
Older Female – Fly By Night
Champion Sprinter (up to 1450m – open company) – Fly By Night
Champion Middle Distance Horse (1500m- 2200m) – Futura[/col]

[col width=”one_half” last=”true” ]
Champion Stayer (2400m and above) – Coltrane
WP Grooms’ School Workrider Of The Year – Justin Andrews
Cape Apprentice Jockey Of The Year – Xavier Carstens
Cape Jockey Of The Year – Greg Cheyne
Cape Trainer Of The Year – Justin Snaith
Exceptional Achievement Award – Stan Elley
Industry Service Award – Robert Bloomberg
Horse Of The Year – Futura
Owner Of The Year – Ingrid & Markus Jooste[/col]